Staff Picks And Reviews
Hedy Reviews “Holy the Firm”

Hedy Reviews “Holy the Firm”

By Library Staff September 3, 2015

This is a slim book that can be read over and over with delight and pondering. Forget doing any Google searches. No website’s going to give you the answers to what “God” (or “god”) is, why there’s pain, why we exist. We can only find answers to those questions within ourselves. And they change from day to day just as we do.

Hedy Reviews “The Year of the Hare”

Hedy Reviews “The Year of the Hare”

By Library Staff August 31, 2015

The main theme could not be more serious: deciding what’s really important in life and following your heart. This is a very Finnish book. Our fragile connection with nature is examined, and nature seems to play an important and almost magical role in the national identity of Finns. They don’t seem to mind snow–it comes with the territory. There is a tension between individual freedom and government regulation and allusions to Finland’s traditional enmity with and distrust of Russia.

Hedy Reviews “Seeds of Hope”

Hedy Reviews “Seeds of Hope”

By Library Staff August 29, 2015

“Seeds of Hope” is almost like a memoir as the author talks about her relationship with plants and trees throughout her life in a very personal, personable way. Photographs (both black & white and color) are used throughout the book to good effect. Goodall is most known for her work with chimpanzees, but she has always had a special relationship with trees. She’d spent many hours in a beech tree growing up in England reading about Africa and doing her homework.

Hedy Reviews “The Sandcastle Girls”

Hedy Reviews “The Sandcastle Girls”

By Library Staff August 17, 2015

The Armenian genocide took place 100 years ago in the Ottoman Empire. Turkey currently denies that it was genocide, so there’s a great deal of controversy going on, especially during this centennial year. “The Sandcastle Girls” is written by someone with Armenian heritage, and it’s pretty clear what he thinks.

Hedy Reviews “American Gothic” A Life of America’s Most Famous Painting”

Hedy Reviews “American Gothic” A Life of America’s Most Famous Painting”

By Library Staff August 15, 2015

The impetus for reading this book came from a trip to Eldon, Iowa, to visit the original house Grant Wood used as the background for his 1930 iconic painting American Gothic. If you haven’t been to The American Gothic House Visitor Center, I do recommend it. The story behind the painting and the subsequent parodies of it are fascinating and, best of all, visitors get to dress up in American Gothic garb and, holding pitchforks, stand in front of the house for a photo opportunity.

Hedy Reviews “Ties That Bind”

Hedy Reviews “Ties That Bind”

By Library Staff July 22, 2015

This was a “One Book One Bettendorf” title in celebration of the Library’s 60th anniversary on July 12, 2015. Along with several other activities, we gave away 300 books and recorded stories about Bettendorf and its citizens as well as the Library and its patrons. We hosted a book discussion in which we chose which story was our favorite. I liked two stories which were opposites of each other in that one featured a father who couldn’t or wouldn’t love and the other featured a father who had an abundance of love.